Website header

 

 

 

175 poster

ALL THAT REMAINS OF THE ANCIENT PRIORY CHURCH OF ST MARY THE VIRGIN, WASHED AWAY BY WATER AND WOUNDED BY CIVIL WAR, IS A WEATHERED STONE CORBEL HEAD FIXED INTO THE WALL OF THE PRESENT ST MARY’S.

 

IN 1839, THE SECOND MARQUESS OF BUTE BUILT THE WEST BUTE DOCK, BUILDING A NEW COMMUNITY WHICH HAS CONTINUED TO CHANGE OVER THE YEARS.  A NEW CHURCH WAS NEEDED AND, IN 1843, AMIDST GREAT REJOICING, THE NEW ST MARY’S WAS OPENED. 

 

175 YEARS LATER,  WE CONTINUE TO BE PART OF A DYNAMIC AND VIBRANT COMMUNITY.  AS WE CELEBRATE OUR ANNIVERSARY, WE TAKE THE WORDS OF WORDSWORTH TO HEART.  IN A POEM WRITTEN TO RAISE FUNDS FOR THE NEW CHURCH HE WROTE: “THAT IN ITS BEAUTY CARDIFF MAY REJOICE.”

 

OUR ANNIVERSARY MASS ON DECEMBER 14TH WILL LAUNCH A WHOLE YEAR OF CELEBRATION AND ACTIVITY AS WE REJOICE IN THE PAST AND THE PRESENT—AND EMBRACE THE FUTURE WITH CONFIDENCE AND HOPE!